How I Made MY Move

Standard

This was a post I wrote almost a year ago.  I’m revisiting it now as I think it’s incredibly relevant to my journey.

 

This is a tough question. What is it going to take for you to make the move and follow your dreams? Is the fear of not having a paycheck holding you back? It’s a pretty scary thought, and one that I’ve been contemplating for several years now, especially with three little mouths to feed. It was in those little mouths that I found the motivation to let go of the toxic security of that paycheck.

I can’t sum everything up in one blog post. But I can say that the thought of my kids growing up watching mommy ‘suck it up’ and ‘tough it out’ for that paycheck, all the while knowing that what I really wanted to do was create (art, jewelry, books, you name it…), would be teaching them exactly what I DON’T want them to do when they grow up. The thought of them wasting their life in some go-nowhere job where their true talents aren’t merely unrecognized, but stifled completely, made my physically ill. So I made the decision to be the change. It’s terrifying, but invigorating all at the same time. The first year is going to be rocky, I’ve accepted that. But at least I know that I’m living some of my most important values – freedom, creative expression, self-reliance. I’ve never been a particularly religious person, but someone said to me recently as we discussed my plan, “The Lord rewards those who have faith.” This is my leap of faith. Making the decision and of course, telling my lousy boss that I was leaving, felt better than anything had in a long time, and doing so made it even more clear to me that I had made the RIGHT decision.

So, my question to you is, what’s it going to take for you to make YOUR move? How are you going to feel at the end of your days when you look back at your life? Will you have lived it the way you wanted?

2 responses »

  1. Good for you! I quit my previous life and moved to Key West in 2005, worked a couple of jobs here (teaching, newspaper) and now I’m writing full time. So, I feel ya!

    • I love Key West! My husband and I got married there in 2007 (at what was Duval Beach club, right next to Southernmost on the Beach) – so cool! Nice to meet you and congrats on breaking free to you as well! I’m hoping to be writing full time soon too….got my debut novel (middle-grade fantasy) completed and am shopping for an agent now! Harrowing! ;o)

Leave a Reply

